Old Dog, New Tricks

Sometimes you learn things later in life than you’re supposed to.  I didn’t learn to use a yo-yo or blow bubble gum until I was well into my twenties.  I could hold my older siblings accountable for this, but I learned plenty from them.

During the past couple of days I’ve learned to apply my own eye drops.  I’ll spare the details other than to say that I’ve also learned about corneal abrasions.  Because I’ve never worn contact lenses or had any eye problems, it’s something I never learned to do. 

A number of years ago I had an especially bad allergy attack and tried to use eye drops that my allergist had given me, but I couldn’t figure out how to get them in my eyes.  My wife had to apply them, once she stopped laughing.  I was frustated enough that I never used them again.

This time I had the optometrist teach me how to do it:  Look all the way to one side and apply the drops from the other side.  It still takes me 2-3 tries to get one in but I’m improving.  At least I think I am; for all I know I’m just giving my eyelid a good bath.

Leave a Reply

