Lockdown

In less than an hour the local supermarkets shut down for 36 hours, their longest closure of the year.

Accustomed as I am to 24×7 supermarket hours, I get into a bit of a frenzy every year over this closure and prepare for it as if an earthquake is coming.  I think some of it is a result of one Christmas around 15 years ago when I flew back to Seattle on Christmas day and came home to an empty refrigerator.  I spent a couple of hours with some hungry friends trying to find an open restaurant that didn’t have a long wait.

Today was pretty typical:  I made a trip in the morning to stock up on staples and then a second trip in the afternoon to pick up the things I forgot in the morning.

I’ll be relieved when 6 AM Sunday arrives.

Leave a Reply

