DVR nightmare

I knew I wasn’t going to be able to watch the Jets game live tonight, so I recorded it on ReplayTV.  As usual I recorded an extra hour at the end, assuming there would be more than enough slack even if there was overtime.

Bzzzt!  Wrong answer!  When the recording ended, the Chargers had recently missed the potential game-winning field goal in OT and the Jets were driving with the ball on the Chargers’ 45.  I had to go to nfl.com to find out how it ended.  If I’d recorded even five more minutes I probably would have gotten the whole thing.  At least it ended the right way.

At some point in the (hopefully near) future we will consider it barbaric that there was a time when DVRs couldn’t automatically detect the end of a program.

Leave a Reply

