Stress vs. Time

"An ordinary person spends his life avoiding tense situations. Repo Man spends his life getting into tense situations." — Repo Man

I’m not one of those people who can be devil-may-care about plans.

This morning I was booked on a 6:45 AM flight.  I set my alarm for 4:30 AM, thinking that I’d leave the house at 5:00 and be at the airport by 5:30.  Unfortunately I overslept and didn’t get out of bed until my wife nudged me at 5:10.  I scrambled like crazy but didn’t get out of the house until nearly 5:30 and even driving a little faster than usual didn’t get to the airport until nearly 6:00.

Despite a mishap with my electronic check-in and a long security line, I was at the gate by 6:30 and made the flight.  And it was probably the most missable flight I’ve ever taken:  I was making a day trip to California for a specific meeting that I could have attended via videoconference in a pinch.

The question is whether I can allocate less travel time for these trips, knowing that there’s a greater risk I’ll miss the flight, or whether I’d rather spend the extra time and not have the stress of hurrying and worrying.  In my case I’d still sacrifice the time to avoid the stress.

Leave a Reply

