Everybody’s Got An Angel

I spent a good portion of last week OD’ing on Blue Angel’s eponymous first-and-only album.  Despite the fact that I’ve had the LP forever, I hadn’t listened to it in a long-time and just recently discovered that it has been re-released on CD.
 
The album itself?  It’s Phil Spector-style pop updated with late ’70’s new wave influences as sung by, well, as sung by Cyndi Lauper.  Listening to the CD reminded me of how much I like the music, and I think I appreciate it more now than I did when it was originally released.
 
The band was pretty popular around NYC around 1980, including a "Win a Date with Cyndi" contest.  The band didn’t last long after that, and I remember playing the album for my friends, most of whom had a pretty strong (usually negative) reaction to Cyndi’s voice.  The joke was on them when She’s So Unusual was released in 1983 and became a huge hit, due in part to Cyndi’s MTV-friendly makeover.
 
As an aside, I was amused to discover that there are some eBay-based profiteers who are selling the CD for $5-$10 more than you can buy it directly from the label, under the pretense that it’s "out of print" and "hard to find".
Leave a Reply

