Don’t Blame Me, I’m Not That Original

This weekend I had the bright idea that it would be fun to make a bumper sticker that reads, "Don’t Blame Me, I Voted for Gore and Kerry."  Then I decided to search the web to see if anyone else had already had that idea.  Wow.
 
First of all, you can get the above slogan on a t-shirt.  And you can get each of them separately on bumper stickers; in fact, there’s an entire web site called dontblamemeivoted4kerry.com.  Not to be confused with dontblamemeivotedforkerry.com, of course.  Someone more conspiracy-oriented than me would probably assume that these sites are operated by Grover Norquist.
 
Truth be told, after scanning a few of these sites the slogans become tiresome and petty quickly, perhaps because there’s only so much one can take of being against something.  I mean, what pleasure is there in sporting a bumper sticker that reads "I Voted for Gore and Kerry and I TOLD You So!"?
 
If I had to buy one of these, it would probably be this one.  Put it next to a picture of Luke Skywalker and confuse the hell out of everyone.
Leave a Reply

