Whew… I’m Not A Boomer

For years I have been told that I was a baby-boomer by nature of my birth date.  Time and again I heard the 1946-1964 range cited as the definitive boundaries.  But I’ve never really felt like I was part of that generation and its peculiar experiences and ethos.   I was five when Woodstock happened.  At some point during my late teens I did feel a desire to be part of that generation, but ever since I’ve dreaded the association.

Last year I was at a talk by Gordon Bell where he referred to a book on generational transitions called The Fourth TurningI read the book and found it fascinating, but was especially relieved to learn that by its definition (1943-1960), I am not a boomer.  Of course, I’m not sure I’m what they call me either, but "not a boomer" is a moniker I can wear with pride and relief.  As long as there’s some money left  in Social Security when I turn 65.

Leave a Reply

