The Cheapskate’s Dilemma

I want to buy a product that’s for sale online.  The exact product doesn’t really matter; what matters is that it’s a relatively new product that I’ve never used before, so I’m not sure if I’m going to like it and want to keep it.

Every place that sells this product charges the same price, so there’s no bargain hunting.  The dilemma is that I can buy it either directly from its maker (which I generally prefer to do) and get free shipping and handling and a 30-day money-back guarantee.  Or I can buy it from a high-end retailer, pay $20-25 S&H and get a lifetime money-back guarantee.  This means that I’m essentially paying an extra $20+ dollars (in this case, around 10-15% of the product’s price) for an extended insurance policy and I have to decide if it’s worth it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.